East Tennessee State University

Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes

9-18-1989

1989 September 18 - Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "1989 September 18 - Faculty Senate Minutes" (1989). Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes. 388. https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/388

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Rugh LaFollette, President of the Faculty Senate, called the seeting to order at 3:35 p.m. A quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Minutes of the August 28, 1989 meetings (last meeting of the 1988-89 Senate and the first meeting of the 1989-90 Senate) were approved without corrections.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Because the treasurer, Bill Fisher, was not present, the treasurer's report was deferred until the next meeting.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. LaFollette asked that senators indicate any errors found on the sign-up sheet (roster).

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

1. Policy on Promotion and Tenure Procedures

The 'Faculty Senate Executive Committee Report', which was tabled at the last meeting, was brought to the floor for discumsion. The question was raised whether this report was prepared by the Executive Committee (of the 1988-89 Senate) or an individual. Dr. LaFollette responded that the report represented Dr. Bill Fisher's "synthesis" of the Executive Committee's thinking on promotion and tenure policies (based on the results of several meetings held during the past year with chairs of the college promotion and tenure committees). Drs. Margaret Hougland and Anne LeCroy discussed the history of the Executive Committee's study of the promotion and tenure process. Dr. Hougland made a motion to send the astter to a committee for study, with the choice of committee to be decided by the (present) Executive Committee. Her motion was maneded to specify that the committee report back to the entire Senate by October 16, 1989. The mended motion passed.

2. Johnson Resolution on Promotion and Tenure

The proposed resolution concerning promotion and tenure introduced at the last meeting by Dr. Charles Johnson (and tabled for consideration at this meeting) was brought to the floor for discussion. Dr. Johnson spoke in favor of its adoption. Dr. Al Lucero expressed the opinion that the cases alluded to in the resolution have been decided and should not be discussed further by the Senate. Mr. Bob Rimer pointed out that faculty members would have no voice in promotion and tenure decisions of their colleagues if this resolution were followed, mine administrators would be bound by the Faculty Annual Evaluations. But faculty members have no input into the annual evaluation of their colleagues; that is determined solely by the chairs and deans. Dr. Ed Williams moved that this matter be sent for study to the same committee which is chosen to consider the Faculty Senate Executive Committee Report. The motion passed.

3. Senator's Responsibilities

The statement concerning 'Senator's Responsibilities', which was tabled at the last meeting for discussion at this meeting was brought to the floor for discussion. Dr. LaFollette pointed out that the statement does not create new power in the Senate with regard to dismissal of a senator, because the constitution provides that the Senate can dismiss a senator by a 2/3 vote. Several senators spoke against approval of the statement, including the characterization of the tone of statement as "very offensive" and an expressed opinion that the colleges should determine their representation. Following discussion, a vote was taken and the motion was defeated.

NEW BUSINESS

1. Smoking Policy (forwarded from the University Council)

A 'Proposed University Sacking Policy' (see August 28, 1989 minutes) was brought to the floor for discussion (with a motion that the Senate indicate its approval). The motion was asended to include the statement that batbrooas not be designated as areas where smoking is permitted. After considerable discussion, the amended motion passed.

2. Representation for Developmental Studies

A resolution (dated 10 September 1989) concerning Faculty Senate representation for the Division of Developmental Studies (see August 28, 1989 minutes) was brought to the floor for discussion (with a motion by Dr. Saralyn Gold for its approval). Dr. Al Tirman read a statement supporting the motion. The motion was asended a) to specify that the relevant section of the Constitution is 1.4.4.5.0., and b) to include the statement that the Developmental Studies Division shall be entitled to elect one (1) senator until it can comply with the proportional representation arrangement listed in Article III.1.4.4.5.A of the Faculty Senate Constitution. The asended motion passed, the vote being 19 for and 6 against.

3. Scheduling of Suaser Courses

Dr. Gary Walters, Director of the Office of Evening and Susser School Programs, discussed a proposal for scheduling susser school classes. A number of students have objected to susser classes being scheduled as MTX (meeting on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday evenings). Many of these students work full time and therefore have no study time between the Monday and Tuesday evening classes. Dr. LaFollette briefly outlined a scheduling procedure forwarded to him by Dr. Walters which would alleviate some of the problems associated with scheduling susser classes (See attachment). Dr. Ernest Bentley made a motion that the Senate support this procedure, with an explicit recommendation that the MTX schedule be discouraged for summer school classes. The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

Present	George Granger	
Bob Riser	Ernest Bentley	
Carroll Hyder	Mary Nelson	
Jim Pleasant	Charles Beseda	
Nancy Gruel	Bill Campbell	
Lattie Collins	Bob Acuff	Absent
Mark Holland	Margaret Hougland	Christa Hungate
Scott Beck	Carol Gordon	Bill Fisher
David Close	Virginia Adams	Katie Dunn
Hugh LaFollette	Rosemary Brown	Chris Ayres
Colin Baxter	Phil Scheuerman	Brad Arbogast
Anne LeCroy	Debra Fortune	Sue McCoy
Edwin William	Saralyn Gold	Clark Gillett
Alfonso Lucero	Gene McCoy	Mitchell Robinson
Charles Johnson	Marie Tedesco	Richard Verbegge