## East Tennessee State University

## Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes

3-5-1990

# 1990 March 5 - Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons

### **Recommended Citation**

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "1990 March 5 - Faculty Senate Minutes" (1990). *Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes*. 360. https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/360

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

#### MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING March 5, 1990

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Hugh LaFollette, President of the Faculty Senate, called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m. A quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

The minutes of the January 22 and February 5 were approved without corrections.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Dr. LaFollette announced that, as of this budgetary cycle, there will be a University Budget Committee which will hear presentations by deans and directors. The Committee will be chalred by Dr. Beller and will include all wice presidents and the president and president-elect of the Faculty Senate. Hearings will be held in late March.
- 2. Dr. Bill Fisher made the following announcements: (i) meeting of Tennemmee Board of Regents staff at The University of Tennemmee on March 8, 1990 to discuss flexible benefits, (ii) Tennemmee Higher Education Assembly meeting on March 31, 1990 in Murfreesborough and (iii) Regents program on April 1-3, 1990 (Dr. Fisher has details).

COMMITTEE REPORTS

<u>Development and Evaluation Committee: Final report on the Promotion and Tenure</u> <u>Guidelines</u>

.....

Dr. Saralym Gold, Development and Evaluation Committee Chair, discussed sections V(B, C) and VI(E, F) of the "Revised Executive Committee Report" (included in the mailout for this meeting). She moved to change V(B) to the following:

V. Reporting Form and Standards:

B. At each stage of the process the candidate shall be informed of decisions made regarding his/her application for promotion and/or tenure, allowing the right of appeal (to the University Appeals Committee) at the dean's level or at the vice president's level.

The motion passed. Section VI(F) was approved without change. Section VI(E) was approved in the following form:

- VI. General Comments
  - E. Relevant administrators and committees involved in tenure and promotion decisions should support these decisions in writing and communicate such to the applicant.

Dr. Gold then said there has been a request that the Senate consider again section VI(C) of the report (included in the sailout for the February 5, 1990 meeting):

VI. C. Because the Tenure and Promotion policies of East Tennessee State University do not address non-tenure track appointments, it is recommended that a non-tenure track policy be established.

• •

She moved that the term "non-tenure track" be changed to "permanent non-tenure track" (both instances). Following discussion of this issue, Dr. Margaret Hougland moved that this section be referred back to the Development Committee for further study, but that the rest of the report, as amended, be forwarded to the approprlate administrators. This motion passed.

Research Committee: Proposed changes in the recently adopted Non-instructional Assignment Program

Dr. Bob Acuff, Research Committee chair, discussed and moved for adoption of the Committee's report on "Guidelines for Faculty Non-instructional Assignment" (included in the mailout for this meeting), comparing these guidelines with the "Guidelines for Faculty Non-instructional Assignment (as approved by the Academic Council)" (also included in the mailout). He pointed out that Dr. George Poole (who was present) had provided input to the Committee concerning non-instructional assignments and suggested that both Dr. Poole and Vice President Alfonso (who was also present) be invited to join the discussion. Following a lengthy discussion, the following amendments were passed:

- Change eligibility requirement (a) to the following:
  a. be a tenured member of the full-time faculty, including department chairs
- 2. Delete the requirement that an applicant must be an Associate or full Professor in rank (eligibility requirement (d)).
- 3. Specify that applications must include a plan for disposition of the faculty member's responsibilities (to be item (e) dealing with applications)
- 4. Replace the statement concerning a "Non-instructional Assignment Committee (NIAC)" which will "evaluate all applications and recommend recipients to the Vice President for Academic Affairs" by the following (see "Guidelines for Faculty Non-instructional Assignment (as approved by the Academic Council)"):

"College/School Committees will evaluate non-instructional assignment proposals and advise the Dean on which should be recommended for approval. The Dean will then recommend to the Vice President for Academic Affairs."

5. Add the following statement concerning benefits: Full benefits will be continued for a faculty member who is pursuing a noninstructional assignment for the duration of the assignment.

(This statement should follow the statement "The faculty member must comply with University regulations ... assignment.")

Following passage of the 5 amendments, a vote was taken on the original motion, as amended. The motion passed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

Present Bob Riser Jim Pleasant Suzanne Smith Mark Holland Scott Beck David Close Christa Hungate Hugh LaFollette Colin Baxter Anne LeCroy Edwin Williams Alfonso Lucero Charles Johnson Bill Fisher

George Granger Katie Dunn Chris Ayres Ernest Bentley Mary Nelson Bob Acuff Margaret Hougland Clark Gillett William Stone Carol Gordon Phil Scheuerman Saralyn Gold Gene McCoy Marie Tedesco Robert Davidson Absent Carroll Hyder Lattie Collins Charles Beseda Bill Campbell Brad Arbogast Sue McCoy Virginia Adams Rosemary Brown Richard Verhegge Deborah Fortune