### **East Tennessee State University**

## Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

**Agendas and Minutes** 

10-10-1988

## 1988 October 10 - Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "1988 October 10 - Faculty Senate Minutes" (1988). Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes. 353.

https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/353

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.



# East Tennessee State University Box 23534A • Johnson City, Tennessee 37614-0002

٢

#### MINUTES OF FACULTY SENATE MEETING

October 10, 1988

#### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Anne LeCroy at 3:35 p.m.

#### APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

The previous minutes were approved with few corrections.

#### TREASURERS REPORT

There was no report at this time.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Bill Fisher gave handouts. Dr. Fisher gave handouts concerning: Sick-leave Bank, Promotion and Tenure Chair meeting, Johnson City, Washington County and ETSU Insurance Benefits and Cost Comparison, University wide Computer Program Announcement, and Sexual Harrassment Workshop.

An IBM representative was asked to address interested faculty on Monday, November 7, 1988. The presentation will begin at 3:30 p.m. in the Forum Room in the Culp Center.

Dr. Creg Bishop resigned his Senate seat along with his current President-Elect position, affective October 10, 1988. Dr. Bishop asked that a person from Public and Allied Health take his Senate seat. The decision was turned over to the Elections Committee. A meeting on November 7, 1988 has been set aside for the Elections Committee to elect a new President-Elect.

#### **RBPORTS**

Elections Committee. Dr. Williams reported for the Elections Committee; the second part of the Constitution and By-Laws, recommended changes were discussed.

" 1 22 Land

Developmental Studies Faculty Proposal. The topic of representation of Developmental Studies on the Faculty Senate was discussed. With considerable discussion, the matter was forwarded to the Elections Committee for consideration.

#### ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:21 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Weiner Woldran

#### ATTENDANCE FACULTY SENATE MEETING

October 10, 1988

Present

Absent

Guest

Wilsie Rishop

Charles Parker Jim Pleasant Etta Saltos Teresa Rice David Close Christa Hungate Hugh LaFollette Colin Baxter Anne LeCroy Edwin Williams Karen Renzaglia Al Tirman Paul Walwick Charles Johnson

Charles Beseda Bob Acuff Margaret Hougland-ex Clark Gillett Rrunhilde Tober-Meyer Joyce Bassham

George Granger Al Lucero Ernest Bentley Mary Nelson Bill Campbell Jean Frazier Don Jones Sue McCoy Mitchell Robinson

Bill Fisher

Richard Verhegge Katherine Dibble Saralyn Gold Gene McCoy Werner Waldron Creg Bishop Marie Tedesco Donald Ferguson Rosemary Brown