## East Tennessee State University

# Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes

3-7-1988

# 1988 March 7 - Faculty Senate Agenda and Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons

## **Recommended Citation**

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "1988 March 7 - Faculty Senate Agenda and Minutes" (1988). *Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes*. 341. https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/341

This Agendas and Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.



East Tennessee State University Box 23534A • Johnson City, Tennessee 37614-0002

FACULTY SENATE MEETING

March 7, 1988

D.P. Culp Center, Forum 3:30p.m.

I. CALL TO ORDER

. .

- II. APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES
- III. ANNOUNCEMENTS
- IV. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

SGA - Withdrawal (Drop) Policy SGA - Proposed Student Athletic/Activity Fee

V. NEW BUSINESS

Institutional Review Board: Its Role and Function

VI. ADJOURNMENT



East Tennessee State University Box 23534A • Johnson City, Tennessee 37614-0002

APPROVED MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING March 7, 1988

#### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President - Elect Anne LeCroy at 3:40 p.m.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

The minutes of the February 22, 1988 meeting were approved as prepared.

As a result of the previous minutes, Dr. Roy Ikenberry explained the salary differential from the ETSU FACT BOOK. He stated salaries of the College of Medicine residents were removed from instructional salaries. Also, during the last five years assistants and/or associate Deans have been appointed in most Colleges of the University. Thus administrative salaries show an increase during this time. He explained the shifting of two positions from faculty to administration. Extensive discussion followed.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

John Taylor is absent due to a death in the family.

The Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate will meet with Dr. Robert Alfonso and Dr. Ronald Beller March 16, 1988.

#### UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Withdrawal Policy. Jason Eagle, SGA President, introduced a resolution to have the effective date of the drop policy from three weeks to four weeks and two days. He gave several reasons to justify the change. Discussion followed, no action was taken by the Senate.

<u>Athletic</u> Fee Proposal. The proposed athletic fee of \$45.00 generated enthusiastic discussion. The revenues generated by this fee will go to the Athletic Fund. Since Athletics uses approximately 1.5 million dollars of state funds, and amount equivalent to the one generated by the \$45.00 fee will be transferred from athletics to the general fund and used for designated special projects.

According to Jason Eagle, SGA will conduct a survey to determine how students feel about the proposed fee.

#### Faculty Senate Meeting March 7, 1988

Program of the Institutional <u>Revenue Board</u>. Dr. Ernest Daigneault explained the evaluation role, function of the Institutional Revenue Board (IRB). The evaluation as a result of the National Research Act, public law 93-348, of July 12, 1974. The IRB must have at least five (5) members; IRB at ETSU has 17 members. Dr. Daigneault distributed copies of <u>Guidelines for Human Subjects</u> <u>Research</u>. He outlined procedures for review of various types of research proposals. All research projects involving human subjects must be reviewed by the IRB.

Dr. William Fisher announced a meeting of the College Promotion and Tenure Committee Chairs Monday, March 14, 1988, 3:30 p.m., W220.

#### ADJOURNMENT

. .

The meeting was adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Alfonso Lucero

### ATTENDANCE OF FACULTY SENATE February 29, 1988

### Present

James Pleasant Etta Saltos Suzanne Smith David Close Anne LeCroy Edwin Williams Colin Baxter Bob Samuels Fred Waage Paul Walwick Eduardo Zayas-Bazan Bill Fisher George Granger Steb Hipple Al Lucero Charles Beseda Bill Campbell Don Jones John Stone Mark Airhart

David Chi Mitchell Robinson Betsy Williams Creg Bishop Carol Norris Werner Waldron Ruth Ketron

#### Absent

Jim Fields Karen Renzaglia Jean Frazier-ex John Taylor-ex Donald Ferguson Brunhilde Tober-Meyer Margaret Hougland-ex Joyce Bassham-ex Katherine Dibble-ex Linda Kerley-ex Richard Verhegge Glenda DeJarnette

#### <u>Guests</u>

Robert Alfonso Roy Ikenberry Ernie Daigneault 2