East Tennessee State University

Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes

8-30-1999

1999 August 30 - Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "1999 August 30 - Faculty Senate Minutes" (1999). Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes. 189. https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/189

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

MINUTES - August 30, 1999

Faculty Senate / East Tennessee State University Last updated: September 7, 1999

UPCOMING MEETING: September 13, 1999 2:45 PM Culp Forum Room FOLLOWING MEETING: September 27, 1999 2:45 PM Culp Forum Room

Present: Alavi, Berk, Burgess, Butler, Chenoweth, Chi, Deadman, Faust, Gallemore, Grover, Harvey, Johnson, Kelly, Kerley, King, Mattioli, McKinney, Mehta, Miller H., Miller P., Oppewal, Parker, Patrick, Perry, Poole, Sluss, Stanley, Steadman, Stone, Tollefson, West, Williams.

Outgoing Senators: Fuller, LeCroy, Palmer.

Excused: Collins, Hemphill, Logan, Quillin.

Absent: Burkett, Knight, Mohon, Obregon, Ramsey.

Guests: Dr. Norma MacRae, Dr. Rich Ranker.

CALL TO ORDER:

With a quorum present, President Berk called the meeting to order at 2:58 p.m. and welcomed Senators to the final meeting of the 1998-99 Faculty Senate.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

The minutes of the April 26, 1999 meeting were unanimously approved.

OLD BUSINESS:

- Treasurer's Report. Steadman delivered the report, noting that funding for Senaterelated travel is available.
- Remarks and Presentations by Outgoing President Berk. Berk thanked the Faculty Senate for its work during the 1998-99 session. Berk recognized the outgoing Executive Committee composed of Melendez (Past President), Patrick (President-elect), Palmer (Secretary), Steadman (Treasurer), Chi (At-Large), West (At-Large) and McKinney (At-Large). Each member of the Executive Committee was presented with a miniature gavel. The following outgoing Senators were recognized for completing full terms: Boland (1996-99), Drew (1996-99), King (1996-99), LeCroy (1996-99), Miller (1996-99), Palmer (1996-99) and Stone (1996-99). Berk recognized that King, Miller and Stone will be returning to the Senate. Berk also acknowledged the contribution LeCroy has made during her twenty-one years of service on the Senate. The Senate's appreciation to LeCroy's commitment and dedication was demonstrated by a full round of applause. The following Senators were recognized for completing split terms: Fuller (1998-99), T. Knight (1996-98), Price (1998-99), Messier (1998-99), Ralston (1996-98), Stanton (1996-98) and Weniger (1998-99).

ADJOURNMENT:

The final meeting of the 1998-99 Faculty Senate was adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER:

President Patrick called the first meeting of the 1999-2000 Faculty Senate to order at 3:11 p.m.

REMARKS BY NEW PRESIDENT:

Patrick welcomed the 1999-2000 Faculty Senate and introduced the officers: Steadman (President-elect), McKinney (Secretary) and Kerley (Treasurer). Patrick introduced a new procedures manual he is developing to facilitate transition for future Faculty Senate presidents. Patrick stated the manual should alleviate much of the initial confusion occurring at the beginning of a Senate session. Patrick commented on the upcoming SAC's review and stated that issues for discussion will be presented to Faculty Senate committees.

NEW BUSINESS:

- Election of Three (3) At-Large Members to Executive Committee Elections Committee. A motion was unanimously approved that Chenoweth, Stone and Chi be elected by acclimation.
- Elections and Appointments of Representatives to Various University Committees. Patrick reported that Academic Council had approved that a Faculty Senate representative will now be a full three-year voting member of Graduate Council. Alavi was re-elected by acclimation. For Instructional Technology Governance committees, Chenoweth was appointed to continue his service on the Academic/Instructional Sub-Committee, Hougland was appointed to the Student Computer Committee, and Barrett and Quigley were appointed to continue service on the Student Technology Fee Sub-Committee. Tollefson was appointed to continue his service on the Instructional Development Advisory Committee. Collins was appointed to serve on the Promotion and Tenure Appeals Committee. Grover was appointed to serve on the newly created University Libraries Advisory Committee. Upon motion and second, all appointments were unanimously approved by the Faculty Senate.
- Appointment of Ad Hoc Committees and Task Forces. Butler, Miller and King were appointed to the By-Laws Change Committee. Tollefson was appointed as Parliamentarian of the Faculty Senate. Upon motion and second, all appointments were unanimously approved by the Faculty Senate. Patrick introduced the need for a Legislative Affairs Task Force to monitor legislation before Congress and the state legislature in order to maintain Faculty Senate awareness of such issues. Stanley, Tollefson, Johnson and Stone were appointed to the Task Force.
- Introduction and Report on TLC Three-year Strategic Plan. Dr. Norma MacRae presented the proposed Three-Year Plan for the Teaching and Learning Center to the

Faculty Senate for informational purposes. Dr. MacRae distributed the Plan and addressed the three major sections of the report: 1) Faculty Mentoring and Development; 2) Instructional Equipment and Multimedia Classrooms; and 3) Enabling and University Support Activities. Dr. MacRae explained that the Plan provided a comprehensive picture of development activities of the TLC for the upcoming SAC's review. Dr. MacRae concluded by requesting that Senators review the handout prior to the next meeting so she could address comments and questions. (For more information, contact Dr. Norma MacRae at x9-7851)

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Dr. Rich Ranker discussed Office of Information Technology initiatives, including Broadcast and Cohort workshops, desktop instructional assistance and special pricing on Dell computers for ETSU faculty, staff and students. Dr. Ranker provided Senators with the number for the OIT help desk (940IT or 9-4648) for assistance with technical problems and requested they call him or Dr. Mike Clay regarding the workshops. (For more information, contact Dr. Rich Ranker at x9-8613)

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Webpage maintained by Stephen Patrick, Secretary, Faculty Senate, 1996-99.