### **East Tennessee State University**

## Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes

**Agendas and Minutes** 

12-19-2007

## 2007 December 19 - Staff Senate Minutes

Staff Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/staff-senate-minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Staff Senate, East Tennessee State University, "2007 December 19 - Staff Senate Minutes" (2007). Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes. 129.

https://dc.etsu.edu/staff-senate-minutes/129

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

Called Meeting
Minutes
Forum Room
December 19, 2007
10:00 a.m.

Attendees: Constance Alexander, Lisa Blackburn, Carolyn Bond, Queen Brown, Robert Calkins, Cindy Canter, Renee Couch, Tim Dills, Charles Forrester, Joy Fulkerson, Linda Greenwell, Dilawar Grewal, Angela Haire, Stephanie Nave, Terry Nelson, Debbie Parks, Chuck Patton, E. Shea Renfro, Wanda Richardson, David Robinson, Sue Russell, Jamie Simmons, Kathy Smith, Vanessa Stephens, Carla Warner, David Collins

**Absent:** Kim Blevins (excused), Deanna Bryant (excused), Corintha Duncan (excused), Denise Dunn, Charles Forrester, Alison Johnson, Linda Lett (excused), Judy Oaks, Betty Ann Proffitt (excused), Jamie Simmons (excused), Debbie Starnes, Karen Sullivan (excused), John Sanders (excused)

**Call to Order:** The meeting was called call to order by President Lisa Blackburn to vote on a resolution to support Dr. Stanton remaining as president of ETSU. President Blackburn thanked Senator Tim Dills who drafted the resolution and Senator Kathy Smith for co-sponsoring the it.

**Resolution:** Linda Greenwell made a motion to accept the resolution to support Dr. Stanton remaining as ETSU President. David Robison made a motion to second.

**Vote:** Senator Tim Dills requested the senators take a vote on the resolution. The vote was unanimous on the resolution. The seal and embossing will be placed on the resolution and delivered by President Blackburn to Dr. Stanton by Friday.

**Adjournment:** Senator David Robinson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Senators Terry Nelson and Wanda Richardson seconded the motion.



# East Tennessee State University Staff Senate • Box 23042 • Johnson City, Tennessee 37614

#### RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dr. Paul E. Stanton, Jr. has exhibited excellence in leadership and a genuine concern for all faculty, staff, and students since assuming the presidency of East Tennessee State University in January 1997, and

WHEREAS, Dr. Stanton has consistently inspired "ETSU Pride" among the staff of this university, encouraging them to aspire to the same levels of enthusiasm for and dedication to this learning community as he demonstrates, and

WHEREAS, Dr. Stanton has been named to <u>Tennessee Business</u>'s list of the 100 most powerful people in the state, noting that he is largely responsible for the seamless relationship between ETSU, Johnson City, and the entire local region, and

WHEREAS, Dr. Stanton had originally expected to retire from the presidency sometime in 2008, having nurtured the university's continued growth in both enrollment and academic programs and guided its progress toward becoming the best regional university in the country; therefore

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Staff Senate of ETSU proudly salutes Dr. Stanton for his marvelous leadership during his tenure as president of ETSU, and
- 2. That the Staff Senate of ETSU, on behalf of all ETSU staff, encourages Dr. Stanton to continue serving at the helm as Captain of the S.S. ETSU and Chief Engineer of the ETSU Express (to borrow references to both the Buccaneer mascot and the university's railroad heritage) for the foreseeable future.

Co-sponsored by Senators Tim Dills and Kathy Smith

Lisa Blackburn, President of Staff Senate

Approved on Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Queen Brown, Secretary of Staff Senate