## **East Tennessee State University**

# Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes

**Agendas and Minutes** 

9-12-2005

# 2005 September 12 - Staff Senate Agenda and Minutes

Staff Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/staff-senate-minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Staff Senate, East Tennessee State University, "2005 September 12 - Staff Senate Agenda and Minutes" (2005). Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes. 101.

https://dc.etsu.edu/staff-senate-minutes/101

This Agendas and Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Staff Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

# **AGENDA**

# SEPTEMBER 12, 2005 Forum - DP Culp Center

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Guest Speaker: Dr. Paul E. Stanton, Jr. President
- 3. Recognize Outgoing Senators Kathy Smith
- 4. Recognize Past Officers Kathy Smith
- 5. Pass the Gavel to New President Dr. Renee Couch Kathy Smith
- 6. Election of New Officers Dr. Renee Couch
  - President Elect Karen Sullivan
  - Treasurer-Irielis makee
  - Secretary-Carolyn Bond
  - Member at Large-Wanda Richardon
- 7. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 8. Treasurer Report
- 9. Committee Reports
  - A. Staff Development and Evaluations
  - B. Staff Concerns and Grievances
  - C. Committee on Committee
  - D. Elections
- 10. Old Business
- 11. New Business -
  - A. Thanksgiving Food Drive Committee
  - B. Fall Family Festival Dr. Carla Warner

Next Meeting – October 10, 2005 In Meeting Room #2

#### **Staff Senate Minutes**

## September 12, 2005

PRESENT: Kim Blevins, Carolyn Bond, Kathy Brooks, Queen Brown, Jeanine Carroll, Sharon Chandler, Kim Denton, Tim Dills, Marcia Donnelson, Mary Duncun, Charles Forrester, Joy Fulkerson, Linda Greenwell, Betty Grice, Tom Hill, Linda Lett, Cindy Lybrand, Trillis McKee, Donna Murphy, Terry Nelson, Judy Oaks, R. Betty Ann Proffitt, Sherry Renfro, Wanda Richardson, David Roberson, Trish Stafford, Vanessa Stephens, Andre Stevens, Karen Sullivan, Rita Taylor, Michael Vaughn, Carla Warner, Pam White,

ABSENT: Constance Alexander (excused), Pat Barnett (excused), Amy Bower (excused), Mark Bragg, (excused), Laura Cooper, Corintha Duncan(excused), Clifford Hudson, Darcy Martin, Diana McClay (excused), Regina Tucker (excused), Cindy Weaver, Joe Webb

President Kathy Smith called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. She expressed her appreciation to the senators for all the work they did during her tenure.

ETSU President Dr. Paul E. Stanton was introduced as the special guest. He expressed his appreciation to President Smith for her leadership and congratulated the new senators on their election. Dr. Stanton stated enrollment is up a little, and the university is in good shape. By fall, 2006, there will be \$107 million being used for ongoing building and construction in new projects. There will be three new colleges: Pharmacy, Public and Allied Health will be split into Public Health and Health Sciences, and Honors. President Stanton and President Smith recognized the outgoing senators by presenting them with a certificate of appreciation for their contributions.

President Smith welcomed the new senators and reelected senators. Smith thanked the past officers and presented them with certificates. The gavel was then passed to Staff Senate's new president Renee Couch. President Renee Couch presented Smith a plaque in appreciation for her services as president.

Senator Karen Sullivan was elected as president-elect. Senator Trillis McKee was elected to serve as the treasurer; Senator Carolyn Bond was elected as secretary; and Senator Wanda Richardson was elected as member-at-large.

Meeting Minutes - Senator Bond moved the minutes from the last meeting be approved. Senator Terry Nelson seconded, and the motion carried.

Treasurer's Report - Senator Tom Hill reported a balance in the Thanksgiving food basket account of \$4.96; a balance in the operating account of \$2,990.10; and a balance in the picnic/staff awards account of \$7,000.

## Committee Reports:

- A. Staff Development and Evaluations No report
- B. Staff Concerns and Grievances No report
- C. Committee on Committees No report
- D. Elections Committee Tim Dills reported that all positions were filled.

Old Business - No old business

#### **New Business**

The Thanksgiving Food Drive will be chaired this year by Senator Kathy Smith. She will need a co-chair and others to work on the committee with her and would like for the collection to begin earlier this year.

Senator Carla Warner announced the Fall Family Festival would be October 29 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m., and she would be passing around a sign-up sheet for volunteers. The festival will be similar to the one held last year.

John Sanders, Human Resources, reported that Banner training is moving forward, and payroll testing has begun.

Senator Joy Fulkerson stated the students were concerned for the victims of Hurricane Katrina and wanted to help. A benefit concert will be held September 28 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Other activities will be provided by departments, etc. at tables set up at the event.

Senator Tom Hill reported that Senator Terry Nelson is the new chair of the Veterans Affairs committee.

The next meeting will be Monday, October 10, 2005.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Greenwell, Acting Secretary

### Staff Senate Election Results - 2005

### EEOC 3

Kim Blevins Tim Dills Corintha Duncan Charles Forrester Patricia Stafford Carla Warner

1<sup>st</sup> Alternate: Ronda Gross 2<sup>nd</sup> Alternate: Chris Loveday

### EEOC 4

Regina Tucker

1<sup>st</sup> Alternate: Lisa Blackburn 2<sup>nd</sup> Alternate: Donna Lee

#### EEOC 5

No qualified persons were nominated.

### EEOC 7

Denise Dunn Linda Lett Terry Nelson Vanessa Stephens

1<sup>st</sup> Alternate: Alberta Harris 2<sup>nd</sup> Alternate: Dante Insalago

As counted by Carla Warner, Linda Greenwell, Jennifer Douglas, and Tim Dills August 24, 2005

New College Representatives (Sept. 2005 - Sept. 2007)

Queen Brown

Graduate Studies

Cindy Lybrand

Medicine

David Robinson

Business & Technology

Pam White

Medicine