East Tennessee State University

Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and Minutes

8-8-2015

2015 August 18 - Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Faculty Senate, East Tennessee State University, "2015 August 18 - Faculty Senate Minutes" (2015). Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes. 92. https://dc.etsu.edu/faculty-senate-agendas-minutes/92

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Agendas and Minutes at Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Agendas and Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

2015-2016 Faculty Senate MINUTES—8/8/15

Faculty Senate—East Tennessee State University

UPCOMING MEETING:	FOLLOWING MEETING:
August 31, 2015 @ 2:45 pm	September 14, 2015 @ 2:45 p.m.
Forum, Culp Center	Forum, Culp Center

- Present: Leila Al-Imad, Fred Alsop, Patrick Brown, Doug Burgess, Randy Byington, Kathy Campbell, Jackie Church, Erin Doran, Joyce Duncan, Susan Epps, Lon Felker, Bill Flora, Virginia Foley, Nick Hagemeier, Tammy Hayes, Bill Hemphill, Stephen Hendrix Amy Horton, Tod Jablonski, Karin Keith, James Livingston, Fred Mackara, Mildred Maisonet, Anthony Masino, Tim McDowell, Theresa McGarry, Lorianne Mitchell, Jerome Mwinyelle, Bea Owens, Jonathon Peterson, Kerry Proctor-Williams, Deborah Ricker, Thomas Schacht, Eric Sellers, Melissa Shafer, Paul Trogen, Robert White.
- *Excused:* Dilshod Achilov, Robert Beeler, Dorothy Drinkard-Hawkshawe, Lee Glenn, Howard Herrell, Helene Holbrook, Koyamangalath Krishnan, Thomas Kwasigroch, Guangya Li, Mary Ann Littleton, Shunbin Ning, Timir Paul, Peter Panus, Judy Rice, Darshan Shah, April Stidham, Bill Stone, Craig Turner, Liang Wang, Ahmad Watted,

Absent:

Guests: ETSU Senior Administrative Staff Drs. Noland*, Bach, Bishop, Sherlin, Collins, and Ms. Ritter; Emergency Management Specialist: Andrew Worley Enrollment Background and Fall 2015 Projections -- Mike Hoff

*President Noland unable to attend because of conflict with TBR Presidents Subcouncil

CALL TO ORDER: President Foley called the meeting to order at 9:00

President Foley requested approval of the minutes from April 28, 2014. The **minutes** were approved.

President Foley requested adjournment of 2014-2015 - Approved

At large Executive Committee

Nominations:

Anthony Masino – Approved Unanimous Bill Hemphill – Approved Unanimous Jackie Church – Approved Unanimous

Chair of Promotion and Tenure Appeals Committee Nominations: Doug Burgess – Re-elected Anthony Masino – Chair in training Parliamentarian Nomination: Bill Flora – Approved Unanimous **TBR Subcouncil Representative** Bill Hemphill – Approved Unanimous Bill Flora – (Backup) Adjunct Faculty Report – Joyce Duncan ETSU in line with or lower than the national average Emergency Management Specialist: Andrew Worley (Report attached) Reports from Standing Committees Committee on Committees—Randy Byington Three openings: Disclosure and Review Committee: Melissa Shafer – Approved Unanimous University Research Advisory Council: Dr. Shah and Dr. Peterson – Tie vote; Dr. Shah withdrew from consideration – Dr. Peterson – Approved Unanimous ITGC Security Subcommittee: Stephen Hendrix – Approved Unanimous Center for Teaching Excellence – Patrick Brown Faculty would like more training and instruction and also want additional support to develop their skills as researchers. Dr. Bach asked for a proposal from Dr. Brown to establish a new Center for Faculty Excellence. The proposal is being drafted and the center is expected to be established as soon as Fall 2016. Announcements: Faculty Convocation 9:30 August 21, Culp Auditorium Student Convocation 15:00 August 21, Mini-Dome Faculty senate would like to host a monthly gathering for new faculty – Dr. Foley asked for volunteers to lead sessions.

Dr. Foley asked that senators from each college discuss how to disseminate information to their constituents (during lunch break).

Welcome and updates from ETSU Senior Administrative Staff: Drs. Bach, Bishop, Sherlin, Collins, and Ms. Ritter

Summer School Update – Dr. Foley

Eleven faculty chose to participate in the pilot program to teach for reduced pay. In the Executive Committee meeting with Dr. Noland, he stated that the faculty members salary would be made whole.

Enrollment Background – Mike Hoff

Undergraduate enrollment is down, graduate enrollment is up. Nonetheless, undergraduate FTE's are up; therefore, students are taking more hours than in previous years.

TBR wants to move students toward a specific major early in the undergraduate curriculum to bolster degree completion in four years.

In state enrollment will go down this year; however, out of state and border county enrollment will increase.

Faculty to student ratio has remained stable ~ 20 on average.

First time freshman retention rate is 66%, transfer student retention rate is 75%.

Fall 2015 projections from 2014 was 13,566 – now we should be slightly higher (within 1 or 2 percent).

SAI Committee Report – Kathryn Sharp; Leigh Lewis

The transition to online SAI reporting resulted in a response rate decline.

The new questionnaire separates the items into categories; online, classroom, and lab, to make them more applicable to all settings.

The student feedback questions have been expanded to include self-evaluation because research shows that when students evaluate themselves first they are more likely to accurately evaluate instructors.

The new system will allow instructors to choose a defined number of questions from a larger bank of questions to allow the instructor to define the most relevant evaluation areas for a specific course.

Dr. Foley asked for suggested changes to the SAI to be sent to Dr. Epps. Dr Epps will not implement the current questions until a revision has been made and the questions have been approved by the Senate.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 15:00.

Please notify Senator Eric Sellers (<u>sellers@etsu.edu</u> or 9-4476, Faculty Senate Secretary, 2015-2016, of any changes or corrections to the minutes. Web Page is maintained by Senator Doug Burgess (<u>burgess@etsu.edu</u> or x96691).