## **East Tennessee State University**

# Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

**Graduate Council Meeting Minutes and Reports** 

3-31-2008

## 2008 March 31 - Graduate Council Minutes

College of Graduate and Continuing Studies, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/grad-council-minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

College of Graduate and Continuing Studies, East Tennessee State University, "2008 March 31 - Graduate Council Minutes" (2008). Graduate Council Meeting Minutes and Reports. 69. https://dc.etsu.edu/grad-council-minutes/69

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Graduate Council Meeting Minutes and Reports by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

#### **Graduate Council - Minutes**

### **East Tennessee State University**

#### March 31, 2008 1:15pm

## **President's Conference Room – Dossett Hall**

Attendees: Ms. Queen Brown, Dr. Stacy Brown, Dr. Scott W. Champney, Dr. Wallace E. Dixon,

Dr. Mark E. Ellis, Dr. Helene K. Halverson, Dr. Donald B. Hoover, Dr. Cecilia A. McIntosh,

Dr. Martha M. Pointer, Dr. Robert E. Sawyer, Dr. Marie Tedesco, Dr. Paul Trogen

Absent: Dr. Judith Anderson, Dr. David A. Arnall, Ms. Maria D. Costa, Dr. Wayne Gillespie,

Ms. LaDonna Hutchins, Ms. Billie Lancaster, Ms. Mary Ellen Musick, Ms. Jenny Reed,

Dr. Jasmine Renner, Dr. Phillip R. Scheuerman, Ms. Chantelle Vernon, Dr. Michael Woodruff

- Approval of February Minutes The minutes were approved with no corrections.
- Curriculum Sub-Committee Dr. Martha Pointer

The Curriculum Sub-Committee did not have any action items for the month of March.

## • Graduate Faculty Sub-Committee – Dr. Marie Tedesco

The graduate faculty subcommittee met on March 10, 2008 and recommends approval of the following **new** applications for graduate faculty status:

Applicant Department Recommendation

- 1. Campbell, Sharon E. Internal medicine associate
- 2. Gloeckler, Lissy HDAL associate
- 3. Hayes, Tammy Communications interim
- 4. Silver, Ken ENVH full
- 5. Stewart-Glenn, Jennifer FCNU interim
- 6. Vanhook, Patricia PMNU associate
- 7. Zhu, Meng-Yang Pharm. Full

### Action taken by council: Approved

The graduate faculty subcommittee met on March 10, 2008 and recommends approval of the following **reapplications** for graduate faculty status:

Applicant Department Present Status Recommend

- 1. Alsop, Fred BIOL full full
- 2. Halvorson, Helene SOWK associate associate
- 3. Hamdy, Ronald Internal medicine full full
- 4. Henson, Gary Physics, Astr.&Geol associate associate
- 5. Hipple, Steb Econ. & Finance associate associate
- 6. Ho, Chu-Ngi CHEM associate associate
- 7. Hurwitz, Rhona CUAI associate associate
- 8. Kelly, Edward ELPA associate returned for clarification 9. Langenbrunner, Mary HDAL associate associate
- 10. Melendez, Eliz, Jane CUAI associate associate
- 11. Miller, Hugh, III BIOL associate associate
- 12. Mozen, Diane KLSS associate associate
- 13. Shafer, Melissa Com/Theater associate associate
- 14. Sobel, Joseph CUAI associate full
- 15. Roh, Chul-Young PUBH associate full
- 16. Shemwell, Don MGMT & MRKT full full
- 17. Swinehart, Kerry Dean MGMT & MRKT associate associate
- 18. Tarnoff, Karen MGMT & MRKT associate associate
- 19. Ume-Nwagbo, Pearl FCNU interim interim
- 20. Whitson, Marian CJCR associate associate

*Please note one application (Edward Kelly) was returned to the department for further clarification.* 

#### Old Business

• Graduate Student Teaching Award update – Dr. Wayne Gillespie

Dr. Gillespie was able to attend; therefore, Dr. Cecilia McIntosh gave a brief update. All the award committees are meeting and the final results should be completed by April 1 and information distributed to council members by April 7, 2008. The council members will be notified by email of the award recipients.

• Update on Outstanding Dissertation, Thesis, and Capstone Project Award – Dr. Wayne Gillespie

Dr. McIntosh reported that all of the award committees are meeting and the final results should be completed by April 1. The council members will be notified by email of the award recipients.

#### New Business

• Discussion of options for awards reception in April – Dr. Cecilia McIntosh

The awards ceremony will be April 25 from 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. at the Millennium Center and will be an afternoon tea setting. The Millennium Center was chosen due to the fact there are more students being awarded in the category of Graduate Student Teaching, Quillen Scholarships, Research Grants, and Outstanding Dissertation, Thesis, and Capstone Projects this year. There are over thirty Quillen Scholarship awardees and sixteen Research Grants recipients. The award winners will be notified along with their nominator or committee chair and the award winners will be invited to bring a one guest. Also, the President Stanton and the Graduate Council members are invited. Dr. McIntosh has notified Mr. Jim Sledge, ETSU photographer, of the event so that photographs will be taken. Dr. Dixon suggested placing the awards event on the ETSU calendar and contacting the University Relations department. Dr. McIntosh will work with Dr. Gillespie and University Relations to contact local newspapers. Dr. Gillespie will be asked to emcee and a small one page program will be printed to be handed out.

- Other none
- Adjournment There were no further items to discuss, therefore, the meeting was adjourned at 1:35 p.m.