East Tennessee State University

Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University

Undergraduate Curriculum Council Minutes

9-8-2010

2010 September 8 - Undergraduate Curriculum Council Minutes

University Governance, East Tennessee State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.etsu.edu/ucc-minutes



Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

University Governance, East Tennessee State University, "2010 September 8 - Undergraduate Curriculum Council Minutes" (2010). Undergraduate Curriculum Council Minutes. 50. https://dc.etsu.edu/ucc-minutes/50

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Undergraduate Curriculum Council Minutes by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ East Tennessee State University. For more information, please contact digilib@etsu.edu.

Minutes: Undergraduate Curriculum Committee, Sept. 8, 2010 Recording: Keith Green

The first UCC meeting of the 2010/2011 academic year was called to order at 2L00pm by Cathy Campbell, Chair.

<u>Members Present:</u> Alison Deadman, Leslie Adebonojo, Debbie Dotson, Keith Green Shawna Lichtenwalner, Jill LeRoy-Frazier, Jason Davis, Suzanne Smith, Ellen Drummond

Visitors Present: Frederick Hipple, Jerry Taylor, Susan Grover

*Cathy Campbell welcomed new members on behalf of sitting members

*The first item of business was the election of secretary for the 2010-11 academic year (to serve as Chair of the UCC in the 2011-12 academic year). Alison Deadman nominated Keith Green. The nomination was seconded by Leslie Adebonojo. *Green accepted the nomination and was elected by the vote of the members of the committee—no dissenting votes*.

The committee considered the following new proposals:

a. Non-substantive Curriculum Change: <u>Economics</u>:

Frederick Hipple introduced proposed changes to the Business Economics Concentration (See current catalog, p. 100) Changes aimed at focusing this concentration on microeconomics with the aim of clarity, and to bring the program of study more into line with standard practices of the discipline:

ECON 4337 (Government Finance and Public Choice) was dropped from the basic requirements of the Business Economics Concentration.

ECON 4327 (Labor Economics) as added to the basic requirements of this concentration.

<u>Suzanne Smith moved approval, Alison Deadman seconded motion.</u>
The proposal passed pending completion of stipulated editorial changes.

b. Non-substantive Curriculum Change: Surveying and Mapping

Jerry Taylor introduced proposed changes to the major requirements of the Surveying and Mapping major, stating that the aim in the revisions was to expedite advising, and make it easier for transfer students to complete degree requirements within a reasonable number of semesters.

Keith Green moved to return for revision, and to table associated course proposals for consideration with a revised TBR proposal. Debbie Dotson seconded motion.

The committee voted without dissenting vote to do the following:

The proposal is returned to be revised into a TBR proposal, since changes of at least 23 creditr hours, in courses added to, or deleted from the program of study are at stake,

exceeding the maximum of 18 credit hours worth of changes that can be considered without the proposal for changes being a TBR proposal

NOTE: SURV 3540 and SURV 3520 are tabled for consideration at the time that the curriculum change is returned as a TBR proposal for the committee's consideration.

c. Non-substantive Curriculum Change: <u>Nursing: Baccalaureate Nursing BSN</u>
Susan Grover represented the Nursing College, introducing proposed changes as part of ongoing efforts to clarify and reform BSN nursing requirements.

Alison Deadman moved to return proposal for revision, Debbie Dotson seconded motion: The committee voted without dissenting vote to do the following:

The proposal is returned to be revised into a TBR proposal, since changes of at least 25 credit hours, in courses added to, or deleted from the program of study are at stake, exceeding the maximum of 18 credit hours worth of changes that can be considered without the proposal for changes being a TBR proposal.

Alison Deadman noted that proposals concerning NRSE 3400 and NRSE 3200 had already been approved by the committee, and were awaiting revisions stipulated by the committee as a condition for approval.

Alison Deadman, outgoing chair for academic year 2009-10 reported her actions as chair to the committee.

The minutes of the April 14, 2010 meeting were approved:

<u>Motion to approve: Alison Deadman, motion seconded: Jason Davis</u>

The committee voted without dissent to approve the minutes without revision.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:35pm:

<u>Motion to adjourn: Suzanne Smith, motion seconded: Leslie Adebonojo</u>

<u>Vote to adjourn without dissent.</u>